For best experience please turn on javascript and use a modern browser!

Frank Nack was officially named as the UvA’s 2018 Lecturer of the Year during the Education Day on Thursday, 31 May. Frank Nack is the programme director of the MSc in Information Studeies at the Faculty of Science.

Faculty of Science Lecturer of the Year Frank Nack cuts his cake

All five winners of the faculty heats were honoured once again during the Education Day, after which representatives of the Central Student Council and the ASVA Student Union announced that Frank Nack was the winner of this year’s overall Lecturer of the Year award.

As the winner, Frank Nack has been given carte blanche to design a new course of his own devising at the Institute of Interdisciplinary Studies. His prize also included a golden pin, while the other four faculty winners received a silver pin, and flowers and wine were presented all round.

Weighted average

A weighting mechanism was developed for the election, which calculated such aspects as the number of students and lecturers in different degree programmes at the University of Amsterdam. After this weighting was applied, Frank Nack emerged as the overall winner.

Look back at the election week

Between Monday 12 February and Sunday 18 February 2018, UvA students were able to cast their votes online. Voting booths were also present at Roeterseiland Campus and the Science Park for two days. The jury announced the faculty winners at the end of March.

More about the election

Good teachers are the key to good education. Each year, students at all UvA faculties benefit from the talents of inspiring, helpful and enthusiastic lecturers. That is why the UvA, the Student Council and the ASVA Student Union annually present the Lecturer of the Year award. During the coming academic year, the elected Lecturer of the Year will serve as an ambassador for good teaching and education at the University of Amsterdam.

Previous winners

Previous winners of the UvA Lecturer of the Year include Joris Marée, Mieke Mulder, Jan Maarseveen ,Gerben Moerman, Sander Bais, Peter Starreveld, Mathieu de Bakker and Maria Bonaria Urban.